Acton Boxborough Colonial Club

facebook twitter

Acton Boxborough Colonial Club


"To put it simply, we are here... To bind generations. To cement relationships. To expand horizons. And to communicate tradition and its values. We wish to bring the past to meet the future. To help the youth of Acton and Boxborough realize the tremendous opportunities, support and caring that can be generated."

Ray Gallant- Inaugural Induction Ceremony 11/26/1993

Entering Acton
Leary Field Scoreboard
Entering Boxborough

Executive Commitee

Inaugural Members Serving

Ray Gallant
Co-Chair/President, Corporate Officer - Assistant Coach AB Football - "the bus driver," member of FOLF, biographer and presenter at banquets.
Ken Mayer
Co-Chair/Vice President, Corporate Officer- member FOLF, publicity, biographer, produces the Celebration of Excellence Books, venue maintenance and presenter at banquets.
Tony Ammendolia
President of Monday Night Quarterbacks, AB soccer advocate, responsible for awards, plaques and venue maintenance.
Barbara O'Donoghue
The Monday Night Quarterbacks - she opens her home to us and provides our meeting place!
Deb Sandock
Former gymnastic coach - and web master

Currently Serving

Peggy Sexton-Hebert
1999 to present - is the Acton High Alumni Liaison- banquet leader.
Dick O'Brien
2001 to present - daughter Maura and son Michael are in the AB Hall of Fame, his sons captained football and hockey - Dick serves on several town boards and support future corporate funding & advertisement leader.
Ann Leary
2010 to present - The matriarch of ABRHS sports
Jessica Gould
2008 to present - Assistant AB Girls Basketball Coach and is our new Treasurer and Corporate Officer.
Jim Maxwell
2008 to present - has coached numerous AB youth teams, The Monday Night Quarterbacks, FOLF and his mother was an early member of The Colonial Club Executive Committee.
Bobby Abare
joined us November 2010. If you are from AB, you know of the Abare brothers.
Amy Hitz-Houle
joined us November 2010 and serves as an AB faculty member.
Mark Smith
joined us 2018. AB Teacher and Coach, who knows just about all of the student athletes over the years. We are lucky to have Mark join the Executive Committee
Stephen Gaebel
came on board in 2011 and has thrown himself into many of The Colonial Club projects.

The following persons have stepped down from The Executive Committee:

Lou Abare
Freshman football coach, and coach of numerous AB youth teams.
Joan Flannery
Husband Bud and son Johnny are in the AB Hall of Fame - Monday Night Quarterback and numerous other booster groups.
Rhoda Maxwell
son Jimmy is in AB Hall of Fame - The Monday Night Quarterbacks, basketball & baseball booster.
Chris Papas
ties to the 1981 Dalton Trophy Class.
Mike McQueen
a great help - he was invited to the Executive Committee after the first banquet, president of The Monday Night Quarterbacks and volunteer for the Recreation Commission - biographer and publicity.
Mike Jeanson
1995 to 2009 - The Monday Night Quarterbacks, built the Finley Press Box, Mike is a valuable asset to our community.
Ed Leary
1993-2009 - Sergeant at Arms - "motivator - kept us focused," student advocate - founder of The Monday Night Quarterbacks, FOLF.
Dick Heffernan
11996 to 2011 - President of The Monday Night Quarterbacks - advertisement leader
Joe Regan
1993 to 2012 - Treasurer and Corporate Officer, helped to create ABSAF and The Monday Night Quaterbacks along with supporting basketball and baseball.

In the early years, additional support from:

  • Cathy Harrington-Gallant
  • Joe Harrington
  • John "Bugsy' Flannery
  • Brady Mayer
  • Jim Megee
  • Monique Papas
  • Mike Smith